Portfolio Workshop, LSO St Luke’s – 8.4.15

Yesterday, at LSO St. Luke’s, we workshopped three new pieces written for us by emerging UK composers Chloe Knibbs, Daniel Kidane, and Ed Nesbit.  In collaboration with Sound and Music, we commissioned these composers to write us new pieces featuring international soloists Rafal Luc, Heather Roche and Marco Fusi.

We’ll give the world premieres of all three of these pieces, along with three other pieces by Athena Corcoran-Tadd, Pedro Alvarez and Oliver Brignall, on 6th June at MeWe360.


Date: Saturday 6th June; 7.30pm
Venue: MeWe360
Presented as part of our Sound and Music Portfolio Scheme, this concert sees three emerging UK composers writing pieces for three international soloists.  They are: Chloe Knibbs (writing for Accordionist Rafal Luc), Daniel Kidane (writing for Bass Clarinetist Heather Roche), and Ed Nesbit (writing for Viola d’Amore, Marco Fusi). The concert will also feature new works for all three soloists by Athena Corcoran-Tadd, Pedro Alvarez and Oliver Brignall.

Continue reading

Written for Me (#1)

Date: Saturday 15th November; 7.30pm
Venue: Cecil Sharp House, Trefusis Room.
As part of our Sound and Music Portfolio programme this year, we are hosting international soloists Heather Roche (Bass Clarinet), Marco Fusi (Viola D’Amore) and Rafal Luc (Accordion) in London.  After a day of masterclasses and composers workshops, these three soloists will give a joint concert of repertoire that has been written specifically for them by composers from around the world, including:

Gavin Higgins Kathedrale
Ian Anderson Siren (World Premiere)
John Croft Intermedio iii
Martin Iddon Ptelea
Lorenzo Romano chi ha paura delle maree 
Federico Gardella cinque notturni da braccio
Felipe Lara Postcard
David Young Escurial

The soloists – and the three composers taking part in the Portfolio Scheme – will present the informal concert in conversation with our Artistic Director Aaron Holloway-Nahum.

Continue reading

Sound and Music: Portfolio

sam graphic

I am absolutely delighted to announce that the call for scores for The Riot Ensemble’s 2014-15 Portfolio Scheme with Sound and Music are now open!  This will be the first Portfolio Scheme to pair emerging UK composers with international musicians.

Portfolio Graphic

There will be a public UK masterclass from each of these musicians in November, followed by a workshop (April) and concert in June 2015 with our Artistic Board performing alongside them.  The project will revolve around three new pieces from three emerging UK composers, one of each of these incredible players:

Heather Roche, Bass Clarinet
I can’t say enough about how much I adore Heather’s playing, or how much she does on behalf of composers day-to-day.  Just take a look, for example, at this catalogue of Bass Clarinet techniques she has documented on her website.

Marco Fusi, Viola D’Amore
I first met Marco in France, where he was performing on both the violin and viola with Ensemble L’Arsenale.  I’ve wanted to work with him ever since, and when the opportunity came to get him involved on the Viola D’Amore (on which he is one of Europe’s foremost performers) I literally jumped at it.

Rafal Luc, Accordion
Rafal is a performer I’ve known ever since my time at the Royal Academy of Music, where we always used to half-joke that – among one of the foremost institutions in the world – it always seemed the strongest department in the whole building was the accordion one.  I simply can’t believe some of the things I’ve heard Rafal do with his instrument in performances and am hugely excited for whichever composer eventually gets to work with him.

The final pieces will feature these performers, and will also include members of our Artistic Board, themselves some of the foremost contemporary performers in the UK.  Composers only need to send in two scores (one for a solo instrument, the other whatever you think is your best work) and a few other documents for consideration.

The deadline for the call is noon on 9th July.

You can find further details, and make an application, over on Sound and Music’s webpage.